Cake, champagne, friends, family and farewells

At the weekend we had a 12-hour party to say goodbye to our lovely friends and family. I managed to only have one wobble in the whole day and only used the one tissue. Maybe I’m saving all the tears for the taxi tomorrow?

Delicious cake!

Our bags are all packed and the house is almost empty and cleaned top to bottom. This evening we dropped Toby off at his temporary home, with my brother and his wife, until he flies out to join us in January. I have no idea what he’ll make of flying but I imagine he’ll just curl up and sleep through most of it with no idea of the big adventure he’s embarking on. I’m already looking forward to picking him up at the airport.

It’s late so I’ll leave you for now with some song lyrics…the next post will be from California!

All my bags are packed I’m ready to go
I’m standin’ here outside your door
I hate to wake you up to say goodbye
But the dawn is breakin’ it’s early morn
The taxi’s waitin’ he’s blowin’ his horn
Already I’m so lonesome I could die

So kiss me and smile for me
Tell me that you’ll wait for me
Hold me like you’ll never let me go
Cause I’m leavin’ on a jet plane
Don’t know when I’ll be back again
Oh babe, I hate to go

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cake, champagne, friends, family and farewells

  1. Cara says:

    Christine, Ben, Bump (and Toby too) – wishing you all the very best and hope you have a smooth journey xx

Leave a Reply

