Sometimes I have to pinch myself

As I write this I have my feet up, the baby is kicking and I’m about to make dinner after a great day out exploring the area with Ben and his mate James (who is over for a week visiting).

I honestly feel like I need to pinch myself sometimes to remind me that this is where we live now. We have all this beauty just hours from our front door (and plenty even closer).

Redwoods in Muir WoodsOf course there are times when it’s really hard living here. Some days are lonely, on some everything seems difficult, and on others home feels like a very very long way away.

But I remind myself why we’re here, what we have to be grateful for and the adventures that are only just beginning.

31 weeksSo back to today. We started the day with a trip up to San Francisco, crossing over the Golden Gate Bridge (via Fisherman’s Wharf and a detour down Lombard St – allegedly the “crookedest street”).

We ended up at Muir Woods. A national monument full of amazing and ancient Redwood trees that was made famous very recently for it’s starring role in Rise of the Planet of the Apes.

The average age of the coastal redwoods at Muir Woods is between 600 to 800 years, with the oldest being at least 1200 years old. This is still young for redwoods as they can live up to 2200 years.

Ancient

A tree is born: 909AD. It fell in 1930!

We enjoyed a leisurely 2-mile walk through the trees being awed by their immense height, age and the habitat that surrounds them.

Ben checking out the trees

So amazingOn the way home there was time for  another detour, this time to the Marin Headlands that overlook the Bay and the Golden Gate Bridge.

Me & Ben with the Golden Gate Bridge

Golden Gate Bridge

Ben & JamesI think that today was one of my favourite days since moving here.

I just need to pop back in time a little bit now if you don’t mind to the first part of this week. It was spent in slightly cooler temperatures at a ski resort in Lake Tahoe. Obviously I spent most of the trip drinking hot chocolate, keeping warm in my new snuggly pink hat and walking Toby whilst the boys went boarding.

Me and Toby the cutest dog in TahoeIt took a long while to go anywhere with the little pup as every second person wanted to stop and say hello to him, tell him how cute he is and ask if he is fully grown. He’ll get a big head if this admiration continues!

Ben & James

Lake Tahoe from the Gondola

These photos along with the memories created this week serve to remind me that we really do live in a stunning part of the world that I can’t wait to explore some more.

Quick, someone pinch me!

Love me x

This entry was posted in out and about. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sometimes I have to pinch myself

  1. Siobhian says:

    Amazing!!!
    I’d love to see the redwoods.
    So glad you’re so happy. Xxx

  2. Pingback: Emily’s first hike | Letters home

Leave a Reply

