Will you be my friend?

Making friends is one of those things we all do throughout life; from playing with fellow little ones at playgroup through to high school, university and new jobs.

I miss my girls!

However it’s a daunting prospect to imagine making new friends in a new town in a new country. Where do you start? As an adult most of my new friends have been made through work. You stop by each others desks for a chat and over a period of time, as you get to know one another, you have lunches and coffees and realise you have more in common than the same job and sharing a space for eight or so hours a day. But I don’t have a job, and won’t do for quite a while, so what is a stay-at-home-not-quite-mum to do?

Be brave, leave the house and join groups of course!

I can’t remember when I found meetup.com but in the last few weeks I’ve been using it in earnest to find groups to join and so far I’ve been to a couple of meetups with mums and their babies and I have another one in the diary for next week. I’ve met someone whose baby is due a few days before me and another who is due 2 days after so I’m looking forward to getting to know them, and their babies when they arrive, more over the coming weeks, months and beyond hopefully.

And when this little one makes his or her appearance I can’t wait to get out and about with them, making new friends and having new experiences.

This entry was posted in out and about. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

